Love Is Real

All those horrible Sheryl Crow commercials, where she rapes “Not Fade Away” and turns it into a song about fucking hair color not fading away, has made me think of good old Jerry.

First of all, Sheryl Crow and Revlon are the devils. “Not Fade Away” is one of the most covered songs of all time, written by Buddy Holly and beloved by Grateful Dead fans as one of the Dead’s most played songs. It is at home on many a wonderful Dead bootleg.

Look, if Sheryl Crow recorded herself burping and put some acoustic guitar behind it, it would be better than all her bland shitty songs combined. I’m sorry she had to go through breast cancer, and okay – she has done some good environmental and social activism, but aside from that I have no love for this woman.

I’ll take my angry hippie rants elsewhere in a minute.

Back to Jerry Garcia, the most loveable dead man in the world (sorry Martin Luther King, you’re second). I hope heaven is one big Jerry Garcia concert.
If you want to listen to some classic Jerry, here it is on the web. This was one of my favorite bootleg tapes and I’m now searching for a good quality copy online or on cd.

By the way, I am an asshole for having Jessica Simpson’s “Private Affair” follow Jerry Garcia on my iTunes. I hate myself.

3 Responses to “Love Is Real”


  1. 1 Nagle February 22, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    I have fortunately been spared hearing Sheryl destroy NFA. But I love the Jerry content. I too loved my tape of the oregon prison show. I bought it from the music store in needham centre that sold dead and phish boots to naive kids like me who didn’t know that it was wrong to pay for such material. I loved that store and would ride my bike there when I was fourteen to stock up on poorly copied maxell XLII’s of some of the best setlists I have ever owned. But all the investment that I puit into gathering that massive collection of tapes has been lost as I no longer have a working tape player or know anyone that has one. So it has been a long time since I have listened to my favorite performance ever, Jerry singing rueben and cherise to inmates. Thanks for a link and chance to hear a bit of middle school nostalgia.

  2. 2 Cait March 5, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    I am more of an asshole because, as I was reading the end, I thought “Isn’t it Public Affair?” The fact that I know that makes the acid in my stomach race up.

    But otherwise, love the point. Not a huge fan of Sheryl, but really dig Buddy Holly and Jerry.

  3. 3 Matt April 11, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Hi Kate, thanks for linking to the Oregon State Prison show!


Leave a comment




February 2007
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Blog Stats

  • 182,447 hits