Praying and Crying

In about 2 hours it will be the five month anniversary of my mom’s death. Yes, it’s still very messy for me, and yes, there’s lots of stuff to work through there. I’m trying. But I’m also trying to keep it off this blog. This blog is for Lindsay being crazy, not me. But I would like to honor my mama with something we’d have a nice chuckle over – Oprah being Oprah. This clip of my herO on Larry King Live is totes insane (the gospel singing?), but the most amazing part to me is how Oprah covers up the giant puff bags under her eyes. They are so enormous, always, yet she manages to keep them so well hidden. Her skin cream must be made of diamonds and puppies.

And don’t worry, the title of this post is not in reference to something I do all day long, but to something my friend Oprah says. Obvs.

Anyway – for my mom. And for you, Oprah lovers and haters.

3 Responses to “Praying and Crying”


  1. 1 D74 August 5, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    Hi Kate,

    My best friend, since 4th grade, passed away 2 days before Christmas. He had a life long illness that wasn’t supposed to kill him. But it did. It’s very hard for me. I just miss talking to him or getting his stupid voicemails he would leave like 3 times a day. Most of them were just songs he was listening to. It was annoying but I miss it now. We were pretty close. We talked daily(I lived 2 hours away), I would visit him before anyone when I went home, I would just go back to hangout with him for a weekend, we were tight.

    It’s must be even harder losing a parent. I can’t imagine it. Especially if you were really close. Hang in there. It gets a little easier everyday. They will always be in your memories and hearts. And if you believe in an afterlife, they are there waiting. I know he’ll be waiting for me with a beer and some bratwurts. At least he better. LOL.

    I was just following links from some t-shirt site and found you on a college joke site or something. I saw you like Phish, the sox, and cheap wine and kept reading. I have been a phish phan since 93 or so. My buddy, who passed away, was a huge phan. We saw a few shows together and actually went to the last show. We never made it in. We are also huge redsox fans. We have a great team this year! I think we may have a great chance of going all the way again. 2004 all over!

    I am sorry that you lost your mother.

    Dave

  2. 2 katespencer August 5, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    Hi Dave! Thanks for your nice comment. I’m sorry for your loss – I think it gets both easier and harder every day, but I’m hanging in there too! On a lighter note, I’m sorry you didn’t make it in to Coventry. And I agree with you about the Sox, though I miss Gabbard (I’m probs the only one).

  3. 3 E August 6, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    Kate- Dave’s truthful and encouragable comment is a true testimony that people who stumble upon your blog feel compelled and comfortable to comment whole heartedly on your posts. I have been reading your blog for a few years now and I had poured my heart out so many times, I backed off because I did’nt want to look stalkerish. Finally I read a comment left by a person who was touched and felt compelled like I have. So, what i am going to do is send a link to ten friends to go through your blog and for every comment they feel compelled to leave, they have to send ten e-mails with your link to someone they know. I figure soon enough your pop culture knowledge mixed with a dirty sense of humour, know how to follow the band Phish and love it along with a Women’s studies degree while loving Howard Stern and DVRing reality shows because you LOVE it- deserves an audience. I will say it again: I expect big things from you Kate!


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 180,132 hits

