A Response to BeepBoop

My friend Birch over at BeepBoop posted a wonderful pic for me today of a giant man with his regular sized friends. I love these pictures. Well wouldn’t you know, I have some pics of a giant person with regular sizers that I would like to post. And the giant featured in these pics is ME.

Guys seriously, I’m only five foot ten inches, but I appear to be a monster-sized woman. I noticed this trend in some pics taken at my friend Susan’s wedding. Please note, Susan is five foot seven, but appears to be a midget next to me. She is even in giant heels in the first pic, but to no avail.

Example #1: Bridesmaids and Brides

Example #2: The Hike

If you ever wonder why us giants slouch, let the above images be your answer. We don’t like looking like giraffes in pictures. I’ve been this height since I was about eleven years old, and it’s been a traumatizing experience my whole life. All you five foot sixers who love to chastise us tallies for not loving our height should walk one day in our ballet flats (probably size 11s) and get back to us. “Oh I’d kill to be your height!” The five sixers say. “It’s so glamorous! Wah wah blah, I’m five foot six!” Shut your fucking average sized mouths. You have no idea how lucky you are. It’s only the models who are glamorous at this height. The rest of us lumber around, hogging up space in the street and on subway cars, awkwardly trying to cram into backseats and airplanes. There is nothing glamorous about J Crew not having tall sizes in stores or getting stuck attempting to exit a roller coaster because your legs are so massive they got wedged in the roller coaster leg compartment. You think there’s suffering in Darfur? Try the giant person walking right behind you. WE are suffering. A lot.

Damn, I am seriously so tall.

6 Responses to “A Response to BeepBoop”


  1. 1 Birch August 1, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Ha! I never realized why you like those pictures! I love being able to see your happy face in a crowd. God knows the world needs to see Kate Spencer as often as possible.

  2. 2 kim August 2, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    I thought MY giant might be mentioned here, on account of you two have entirely too much in common, in particular your freakish height.
    You guys should have gotten a picture together – you would look normal-sized!

  3. 3 Lauren August 6, 2007 at 10:35 am

    i know exactly what you mean, especially on the ‘i’d kill for your height’ part. i am definitely tired of hearing that, but know it could be worse. i’m a girl, i’m 6’2″ and have been since 6th grade haha.

  4. 4 katie cheek August 7, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    oh, I feel you.

    Shopping for pants is the most horrid experience.

  5. 5 Michelle August 9, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    Yes, all my pants are effectively capri pants as well.

  6. 6 ari August 24, 2007 at 9:17 am

    Ha – I was going to mention 6′ 2″ Katie Cheek but it looks like she herself beat me to it.

    When I was in college I wanted to be a model for about 20 minutes and I cursed my 5’6 1/2″ frame. If only I could’ve lost 30 pounds I’d have been just like Kate Moss! (Seriously, she’s my height and 30 pounds lighter than I am.) But I got over that.

    If it makes you feel any better I never really noticed that you were tall. Probably because I know Katie Cheek.


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 180,245 hits

