Rock of Love…and Me

Rock of Love is VH1’s latest attempt at mixing the insanity of Flavor of Love with rock n’ roll (and some trashy strippers). It’s honestly pure genius. Before I started working VH1 I felt a deep admiration for their obvious understanding of what makes a reality TV show awesome. Now that I work within the walls of the great Viacom, I am proud to be somewhat tied to this tiny slice of genius. If you aren’t up to date on Bret Michael’s dating bonanza, you should check out my co-worker Rich’s recap of the first episode. Though I first thought it to be impossible, the re-cap is BETTER than the episode. Both are made of heaven cooked in an oven of all things good. With a dash of ho mixed in.

I’m slowly trying to get back to the blogosphere here on KateLikesYou. I’ve been spending a lot of time working through the stuff that comes with the loss of my mother by doing a shit-ton of yoga and a fair share of the talking cure. I don’t know if it’s working, but I have learned that it is a fucking slow ass process that will probably take a lifetime to work through. I am a functioning adult most of the time, unless booze or therapy is involved. Then my eyes run and my nose cries and all that good stuff.

But that brings me to my latest cure-all: WEDDING MAGS. Holy yes. Perhaps this blog might head toward the wedding world a bit as I am properly engaged to wed Boyfriend, and the world of weddings is fucking insane. But there’s nothing like advice on teeth-whitening and invitation etiquette to make my head calm. I’m just glad I read this book before my Bridezilla shit hit the fan.

Oh fuck it, the shit is coming regardless.

5 Responses to “Rock of Love…and Me”


  1. 1 Anne July 17, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Hi Kate-

    What lovely, lovely news. Congrats on your engagement! Being married is absolutely the best.

    I only had one horrible Bridezilla moment. When our invites weren’t printing out correctly and Fred said, “In the end, all that will matter is that we’re married,” I told him to FUCK OFF. And I meant it. Nice.

    xo, Anne Stesney (nee Nodar)

  2. 2 Travis Dudfield July 19, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    I wish I was at the creative meeting that hatched the idea for Rock of Love….

    Writer 1: Well, Flavor of Love is awesome!

    Writer 2: Totally!

    Writer 3: Who can we use from The Surreal Life to make another one?

    Writer 1: Does it really matter?

    Writer 2,3: Good point!

  3. 3 Brazzles July 20, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    You look very pretty in that picture.

  4. 4 Andi July 26, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Congrats Kate! One word of advice: indiebride. I found it way more helpful than the knot.

  5. 5 kory September 12, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Hey Kate!

    I like you too but I love you blog! Here’s to hoping that all the wedding stuff is going smoothly. With the amount of yoga you’ve been doing you to relieve stress? You are probably like Gumby by now! LOL!

    The website that I put in the leave reply box above is one that you definitely need to see especially since you are like the VH1 mondo blogchick. I am hooked on Rock of Love and I am constantly searching for information on the show and I ran across that site last night. To say that these people are morbidly obsessed with the show would be a huge understatement. They have tombstones with the names of the fallen “rock chicks” with the most hysterical epitaths on them. They even created a Lacey Doll that in a former life was a GI Joe with Kung Fu Grip. Oh! They even have a psychic on board they call the psychick that predicts whose tour will end. The whole place is hysterical…You will love it! Just thought I’d give you the heads up so that you could see some of the great stuff that has spawned from this kick ass show!

    Just remember, all you really have to do Kate is breathe. 😀

    Kory


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 180,135 hits

