Mother’s Day

I’m not sure if I am supposed to hate Mother’s Day now, or not. Actually, I think I am supposed to hate it, but I don’t. I am pretty ambivalent about it, aside from the fact that a Mother’s Day themed JC Penney commercial just made me cry. However, that probably would have happened if my mom was alive and well. I cry no matter what! I love tears!

I probably won’t be blogging much this week as I am off to Ohio tomorrow to perform and then am back in Boston to celebrate my mama with some family and friends. I’ll be back in NYC over the weekend to run a Mother’s Day four mile race with Anthony, Sussy, Kula and Purnell. So I guess even us momless folk can participate in Mother’s Day.

I’ve been trying to figure out a way to celebrate sad days in a way that makes me happy. This past Friday, on the second month anniversary of my mom’s death, I tried to do stuff she would have loved to do…so I went out to eat at this cafe that we loved and then went to our second home, Bloomingdales. Fun! It was fun. Maybe a little sad at times, but fun. Spending a lot of money on a dress was the sad part. Looking at Chanel ballet flats – fun!

I also thought it would be nice to celebrate some of the other mothers in my life on Mother’s Day, instead of being weepy and feeling bad for myself (which I am sure I’ll still do).

So Natashamy part-time blogging partner, writer, friend, and totally hip, cool, vegetarian MOM – if you’re reading this, you’re getting a subscription to our girlfriend O’s magazine. It should start coming in a couple of weeks.
Now go live your best life, girlfriend! And everyone else, go read Natasha’s blog!

Happy Mother’s Day, peeps!

(Hey, is it too preachy to tell you guys to call your moms? Do it. I’m kind of jealous that you can.)

4 Responses to “Mother’s Day”


  1. 1 Natasha May 7, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    Kate!!!! That is so sweet of you!! Thank you! I loved this entry even before it was directed to me.

    AND I was just about to tell you that I was going to mail you Rosie’s autobiography if you haven’t read it yet. We are so daytime *nsync it’s crazy (and sad?) (No!).

  2. 2 katespencer May 7, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    Anything for you, FancyFace!

    And, please, send the Rosie book asaps!! That sounds amazing. if only Oprah would write one.

    Also, do you have XM radio? Oprah and Friends???

  3. 3 Natasha May 7, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    I WISH. Go check your email, please.

  4. 4 Ats May 10, 2007 at 4:54 am

    hey, that JC Penney ad makes me weepy, too. love you.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 180,278 hits

