Get Rid Of Your Shins CDs

On New Years Eve my friend Megan handed me a mix cd of her Top Songs of ’06. I was really excited! It was a totally unexpected present and it warmed my tiny heart. We had been discussing this post on her blog (which I loved) at a party a few nights earlier, and I shamefully disclosed that I knew not one song she mentioned. I have realized though, that I am not a total loser, as I know Heartbeats by The Knife. But the version on “My Megan Mix” is a different version from the one I jam on!

I was truly blessed with a CD of entirely new music.

I had only heard 3 of the artists on my new mix. I finally started rocking to it on the train ride back to NYC this past Monday. I was crying by the 7th song. Then I started weeping again at the 9th song! Oh, this mix is amazing. I cry a lot these days, but I can still appreciate music that lubes the eyes.

I love the Swan Lake song “All Fires” the most, as it is beautiful and one of the lyrics from the song is “So it’s Teresa that I love the best” and it’s true – I LOVE MY FRIEND TERESA! If you’re reading this, I love you Rocky! This is a pretty song and was reminding me of her, and then her name got busted out in a lyric. The magic of indie rock! Maybe I will make her a mix, but I bet she already knows this song because she is a big dorky music head. And she also makes me mixes, and they are amazing. So much for that idea.

This post has no point.
It is a thank you to Megan and to new, good music.


Bleary Eyed – The Annuals
I’ve Just Got To Tell You – Dr. Dog
Made Up Love Story #4s – Guillemots
Emily – Joanna Newsom
Poison Cup – M. Ward
Defects On My Affection – Peter Bjorn & John
Mexican Blue – Jolie Holland
Rubies – Destroyer
Postcards From Italy – Beirut
All Fires – Swan Lake
Roll With The Winner – Clipse
Heartbeats – The Knife
Thursday – Asobi Seksu
Mothers, Sisters, Daughters & Wives – Voxtrot
Young Folks – Peter Bjorn & John

5 Responses to “Get Rid Of Your Shins CDs”


  1. 1 teresa January 10, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    i love you too spencekid!!!!!!
    new shins on the 23rd!

  2. 2 katespencer January 10, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    Oh Rocky, “I just love you!”
    When I say that, I say it in a Sater voice. Who I also just love!

  3. 3 Katie January 11, 2007 at 1:34 am

    And I love Thursday, by Asobi Seksu! Isn’t it so moving!?

  4. 4 Natasha January 11, 2007 at 3:15 am

    But why do I have to throw out my Shins CDs?

  5. 5 megan January 11, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    aw, kate. so glad you like it!


Leave a Reply

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 180,359 hits

