Wilson

So you probably know that Phish is my favorite band. I saw my first Phish show exactly 11 years ago in 1995. I’ve drived thousands of miles, seen tons of concerts, given a lot of free hugs, seen a lot of sketchy things, bathed in seas of dirt, spent nights sleeping in McDonalds parking lots, gotten speeding tickets in Virginia and had my car totalled,  all because of Phish.

Oh, and then they broke up in 2004 and ruined my life.

For years rumored swirled around the smelly head of Trey Anastasio, the lead singer, that he was one big crackhead. The music got shittier and shittier, his ego got bigger and his concert rants got nuttier. At Phish’s final show, Trey told the same weird story two nights in a row to a crowd of 100,000, all who walked miles through mud trenches to see is snorty ass.

I spent a lot of my teen years workshipping Trey, until the night when I was 19 and saw a gaggle of underaged hos getting shuffled onto Trey’s bus after his Portland, ME, solo show.

Trey has two young daughters and a wife.

As an early Christmas present to his family, Trey went out and got arrested the other night for driving under the influence. He also had a gaggle of prescription drugs, made out in someone else’s name, all over his car.

I really hope Phish gets back together!

6 Responses to “Wilson”


  1. 1 chris December 16, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    you have blogged a lot, i have not. i actually found your page looking for a photo of goldie hawns daughter, she’s a kate. i didn’t even know she had one till today on i think it was fox news.

  2. 2 Kula December 17, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    Sorry – I wasn’t logged in when I left the above comment. That’s me. I’m Chris.

    Now, back to the Hawn spawn – please send pics.

  3. 3 teresa December 21, 2006 at 10:44 am

    this makes me so sad : (
    and even sadder that i still am hoping for a surprise NYE show

  4. 4 Jordan December 24, 2006 at 2:35 pm

    it’s funny that fans are saying that drugs ruined their last few years, while naysayers always said that drugs ruined their first 15 years. or rather that drugs were the only way to make their music tolerable. i hate when people say that, don’t you?

    to me trey has always seemed like a likable asshole, like someone who, if you saw behind the scenes, would come off as a major prick, but you’d still love him. and then that documentary Bittersweet Motel didn’t really help that, cause he came off as an egotistical jerk there most of the time. but i still love him. i think phish will start touring again in like 5 or 10 years, when we’re all old enough to afford making a weekend out of it, staying in a nice hotel instead of in a parking lot. Kind of like people who go see Phil Lesh shows – older hippies, or “cool” parents who still smoke pot, who spend $800 on a weekend experience, instead of buying cheap beer at the local supermarket and selling it in the concert parking lot to pay for a concert ticket and gas money to get home. Ah, i miss those days.

  5. 5 katespencer December 26, 2006 at 1:28 am

    I think in the end, Trey is a douchebag and he ruined it for Fish, Page and Mike, as well as us.

  6. 6 Jordan December 30, 2006 at 7:13 pm

    i agree. and unfortunately, just based on him being the lead guitarist and singer of Phish, he will be the one with the most successful post-Phish career. I haven’t listened to much of his solo stuff. Should I? Is Page doing anything at all?
    I’m not saying he doesn’t deserve a good solo career, but I do think he fucked it up for Phish.


Leave a Reply

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 180,359 hits

